How To Turn On Or Off Fast User Switching

Do you want to turn on or off Fast User Switching? In Windows 10, “Fast User Switching” is an essential feature, and its major aim is to offer a way to instantly switch from one account to another while keeping the earlier user signed in. Although it’s the best choice to have on a shared PC, Fast User Switching has some risks. For instance, when users are still signed in, you can’t disable the device, as they might lose their unsaved work. Also, signed in accounts still consume some resources of the system, and depending on the PC hardware, executing apps and services when you have several accounts running together can slow down the user experience.

How To Turn On Or Off Fast User Switching On Windows:

Turn On Or Off Fast User Switching

You can turn on or off fast user switching using these instructions.

Method 1 – Group Policy

Step 1:

Tap the Windows Key and hit “R” together to bring up the Run dialog box.

Step 2:

Input “gpedit.msc” then hit “Enter“.

Step 3:

After this, you can then view a Local Group Policy Editor. Simply expand the following:

  • Local Computer Policy
  • Computer Configuration
  • Administrative Templates
  • System
  • Logon
Step 4:

Head over to the “Hide Entry Points for Fast User Switching“.

Step 5:

Choose “Enabled” to disable Fast User Switching. Set it to “Disable” to enable it.

Method 2 – Registry

Step 1:

Tap the Windows Key and hit “R” together to bring up the Run dialog box.

Step 2:

Enter “regedit” then hit “Enter“.

Step 3:

You can now expand the following:

  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
  • SOFTWARE
  • Microsoft
  • Windows
  • CurrentVersion
  • Policies
  • System
Step 4:

You can now look for a value known as “HideFastUserSwitching“. If it can’t exist, right-tap the “System” folder, choose “New DWORD 32-bit value“, then specify the name of “HideFastUserSwitching“. Hit “Enter” to create the value.

Step 5:

Double-tap “HideFastUserSwitching“. Modify the “Value data” to “1” to turn off Fast User Switching, set it to “0” to turn on it.

Conclusion:

Remember that using these steps, you’re actually only erasing the option to switch to user accounts from the Start menu, Sign-in screen, and Task Manager. However, the feature will also available on Windows 10. However, users don’t have access to it allowing them to save their work and then sign out before another user can sign in.

If you think the article is helpful then share it with your friends and don’t forget to share your thoughts with us!

Also Read:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *